The Classic: Rice Krispie Treats

There’s nothing quite the same as finals week. You study, study, study for the past week and a half (if you’re a good student), take the test, then promptly forget about it all as you walk out the door and on your way to freeeeedom!

My summer class finals are in about a week, give or take; and have I started studying? Well… I have… as well as one can study during the summer, I suppose. Like running flash cards (not), making self-quizzes (not), and having a study group that meets once a week (not).

wpid-20140713_180318.jpg

But all this studying makes me want to take a break; LONG breaks. As in, let’s-go-to-the-movies-two-times-in-two-days sort of break. Or, let’s-go-make-some-treats-for-friends-and-pretend-to-study-while-it’s-baking sort of beak. And, I-miss-playing-my-cello sort of break. You feel?

In all honestly, I’m going to have to study. Like, hard-core studying. And while I sit in front of the computer, read about what makes a Taylor Series so important, how to use the Molecular Orbital Theory, nibble on something marshmallow, I dream about what I’m going to do the last few weeks of free summer time– but not all the time.

wpid-20140713_180517.jpg

xAudrey

 

Rice Krispie Treats

(makes about 16 squares)

Ingredients:

  • 1 10 oz. bag of marshmallows
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 5-6 cups puffed rice cereal

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, melt butter on medium heat, then add marshmallows and stir until melted. Remove from heat, then add milk and vanilla.
  2. Stir in puffed rice cereal and stir until coated. Press into a greased 9×13 inch pan in an even layer. Let cool, then cut into squares. Store in airtight containers.
3 thoughts on “The Classic: Rice Krispie Treats

Tell me what you think:

