Life’s Box of Chocolates| Cupcakes, Classes, & Catan

Hey there! I have a confession: Lately I’ve been void of inspiration for recipes. I’ve been racking my brain over and over for a good recipe to share, but every time I do, I’m dead tired and want to just eat it and sleep. Eat and sleep, eat and sleep; that’s what I’ve been doing over the summer.

Actually that’s not entirely true. I’ve been quite busy. Even though summer vacation is upon us, I decided to take some Chemistry and Calculus at a local community college, as is my sister. I won’t say it’s entirely easy (because it’s not. The many late nights with me half reading why the integral equation for volumes using cross-sections work  can attest to that.), but it’s well worth it. 

wpid-20140608_182651.jpg

But before I get ahead of myself, I want to introduce another part of my blog, called “Life’s Box of Chocolates”, from that famous Forrest Gump quote. These will be little snippets of my life, as seen from the camera. Sometimes they’ll be good snippets, and sometimes, well, they’re not so good. But as the French saying goes, C’est la vie.

Sometimes I wish I was taking French over the summer instead of Chemistry and Calculus. It’s what my brother did. But if I did that, I wouldn’t have met some of the amazing people there. Being somewhat of an introvert (though it’s very difficult to place labels, since one isn’t totally an introvert or extrovert), I thought making friends and talking to new people would be difficult. But I realized that if you don’t put yourself out there, there are so many opportunities you’ll miss.

On a happier note, a friend had her senior recital last week. She played– and I’m totally serious– 10 different songs on 3 different instruments! Say what!! I can’t believe it. She’s such a sweet and hardworking girl. She’s going to do so well in college. She also had these gorgeous cupcakes as favors at the end. My sister and I stared at the frosting flowers for hours. Too mesmerizing.

wpid-20140607_180126.jpg

 

My sister and I also decided to pull out an old favorite: Settlers of Catan! Who doesn’t love that game? We got it years ago as a Christmas present, and we still love it. We tried teaching the kids we babysit how to play it, but they were a bit squirrely for this sort of game.

wpid-20140529_091902.jpg

That about sums it up! How was your week?

x Audrey

P.S. I also found my dad’s OLD phone. How cute is that???

wpid-20140606_151641.jpg

 

Tell me what you think:

