MACARONS ARE EVIL + My History Teacher’s Favorite Cookie

I was always told that macarons were difficult to make. But capitalistic me thought “Eh! I’m a pretty good baker, I think I can succeed where everyone else has failed!”

IMG_20140521_141143_964

Silly me.

After an overcooked set, an extremely cracked set, and a bumpy set, I basically broke down and cried, because a.) almond flour is NOT cheap, even if it’s homemade, and b.) I had such high hopes for it and c.) I spent a whole afternoon trying to sift together the confectioner’s sugar and not-finely-ground-enough almond flour. I needed something reliable to make myself feel better and to give to my teachers as an end of the year present.

IMG_20140521_141750_646

I looked around Foodgawker and saw a Nutella-stuffed brown butter chocolate chip cookie, and I instantly knew that was what I wanted to make. And so I bought a jar of Nutella, stuck it in the fridge, and made chocolate chip cookies with it.

There is a good news and bad news about this.

The good news: I got to make brown butter for the first time, and now I’m totally hooked. So it’ll be featured in a later recipe.

The bad news? Well… you know how taking pictures without natural lighting is a big no-no for food bloggers? I made these late at night, and we all know good lighting is nonexistent then.  So I did take pictures… they were just… really bad.

IMG_20140521_144522_085

All ready to be popped into the oven!

So instead of just one type of cookie for my teachers, I made… TWO! The second being the humble and delicious snickerdoodle. I find this cookie is overlooked way too much by its classic cousin, the chocolate chip. But hey-0, anything that has the word “doodle” in it has got to be great, right?

I remember asking my history teacher what kind of cookie was his favorite on a piece of homework, because I thought he was one to just glance over it. But no– to my surprise, he gave me an answer: snickerdoodles. And so I went and made snickerdoodles, just for him (well, and other teachers too I guess).

IMG_20140521_151002_303 (2)

Even though I missed Teacher Appreciation Week (is that just a Midwest thing?), I’m sure my teachers don’t mind a little something extra at the end of the year. They deserve it. They’re great people.

And will I miss them?

Well.

Maybe. (:

x Audrey

My History Teacher’s Favorite Cookie (aka, Snickerdoodles), adapted from allrecipes.com

(makes about 40)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 2 tbsp white sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400° F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Cream butter with 1 1/4 cup white sugar, then add eggs and vanilla extract. Then combine flour, 1 tsp cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, baking soda, and cream of tartar into the butter mixture until just blended.
  3. Mix together the 2 tbsp white sugar and  2 tsp cinnamon. Take golf ball sized pieces of dough and roll them into the cinnamon mixture. Place onto parchment paper and bake for 8 min.

 

Tell me what you think:

