I present to you… Homemade Larabars!

I remember the first time I had Larabars. It was during Cross Country. People brought snacks for the whole group, and once this girl brought Larabars. The one I had was the Chocolate Chip Cookie, so I was intrigued. I wasn’t until I opened it I realized it was a bunch of chopped nuts in pureed dates.

To be honest, it looked a lot like poop to me.

IMG_20140420_144553_071

At first, I didn’t like it much. It seemed like one of those healthy foods that people pretended to like but really didn’t but they want to be healthy/lose weight so they make themselves eat it. You know, those kinds of foods.

But the more I ate it, the more I appreciated the concept of it. I mean, a “granola” bar made of just fruits and nuts? That’s a major success right there. Especially with the whole no added sugar. This seems like magic.

IMG_20140420_144543_443

I used prunes instead of dates because dates are crazy expensive. I could get like twice the amount of dates for the same amount of money. Plus, dates keep people regular (sorry, a bit TMI). I also halved the recipe because the processor we have is small (it only holds like 2 cups) but feel free to make more.

This type I made here is a chocolate coconut bar. Does it taste like chocolate and/or coconut? Eh. Not really. But the flavors do lend well to each other.

IMG_20140420_144606_175

Here is a general rule of thumb when making these:

  • 1 cup nuts
  • 1 cup dried fruit
  • some additional ingredients, about 1 cup.

See? Easy. Now go make some Larabars.

x Audrey

Homemade Chocolate Coconut Larabars

(makes about 6 bars)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup prunes
  • 1/2 cup nuts
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened dessicated coconut
  • 3 tbsp cocoa powder

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients into a food processor and blend until prunes turn into a paste and nuts are broken down into small pieces.
  2. Shape into a rectangular shape, then refrigerate for 30 min.
  3. Cut into bar-sized pieces, and wrap in plastic wrap. Store in refrigerator for up to 1 week.
One thought on “I present to you… Homemade Larabars!

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Thursday: Afterschool Snacks | donutsanddinner

Tell me what you think:

