Easy-Peasy Granola Bars

I have a confession.

I’ve wasted so many ingredients. So, so many.

IMG_20140401_164244_341

Why? Because I tend to try and make the same sort of things over and over again until my family gets sick of them and/or until I get it right.

Take bread for example. The first 10 “loaves” I’ve ever made turned out to be half-cooked logs of hard dough. My brownies seemed to always have pockets of air. My cupcakes seem to be gummy and gross.

But honestly, I’ve stuck to it. Because I love cooking. Perseverance is what they taught us in elementary school.

And so I kept on working at it. My loaves, slowly but surely plumped up and became nice and airy (except the next day the’d turn hard because bread is best fresh. But that’s understandable, right?) I finally, finally, made my first gooey, delicious brownie two months ago– red velvet cheesecake, mmmm… and my cupcakes… well… let’s just say they’re a work in progress…

IMG_20140401_164232_679

Granola bars are part of this list. My goodness, I’ve tried making them super healthy with no added sugar, honey, or oil, but honestly, it needs some naughtiness to make it palatable.

I made homemade larabars a couple weeks ago. Success! (even though they looked like someone poo’d them out)

I made these no-bake bars that weren’t exactly healthy, but had a great deal of flavor. Second success!

And these were my third. They were nice and chewy, sweet but not too sweet. My mom ate one and said they were great cold. And so that’s how I recommend them.

IMG_20140401_164251_736

They require dates. I had no dates, but I used prunes. They’re good for you. They keep you regular. End of story.

x Audrey

Easy-Peasy Granola Bars (adapted from Minimalist Baker)

(serves 10)

Ingredients:

  • 1 packed cup of dates or prunes (about 200 g)
  • 1 cup almonds, lightly crushed
  • 1 ½ cup oats
  • ¼ cup peanut butter
  • ¼ cup honey

Directions:

  1. pulse prunes or dates in food processor until smooth.
  2. In a large bowl, add together the almonds, dates, and oats. In a microwaves safe bowl, microwave peanut butter and honey together until warm. Pour over the almond mixture and toss until well coated.
  3. Line a 8 x 8 pan with parchment paper. Press the mixture into the pan firmly, coating your fingers with water if they stick. Then refrigerate for about 30 min.
  4. Cut firmly into 10 bars. Store in refrigerator until eating time!
Tell me what you think:

