My Sister’s Pasta Salad

  I think I’ve come to mention my sister’s (and my) affinity for anything pasta– be it vermicelli, bean thread, or wheat pasta. I’ve asked her about it, and she says it has to do with the slurpiness and chewiness, if that makes sense.IMG_20140206_123603_105

Another thing she really loves (well two other things) are mushrooms and olives. Every single time we go eat pizza, the MUST be mushrooms and/or pizza. What she loves so much about a piece of fungus, I have no idea. I mean, I do like mushrooms, but not enough to want them on everything.

This pasta salad is best made a day ahead. The flavors develop and mingle as they meld in the fridge. That means you can make a huge batch over the weekend while listening to the radio or your favorite songs and scoop out some for lunch every day. Easy peasy.

IMG_20140205_154637_477

Another thing that makes this so great is the versatility of it. Add cheese; don’t add cheese. Add salami, pepperoni, ham– whatever floats your boat. The balsamic in this (should you choose to add it) puts a nice zing to the whole dish, in addition to “cooking” the mushroom (should you choose to add that too.)

Usually my sister doesn’t do the main cooking in my family; it’s usually me and my mom. Me now, mostly, because I sort of become a dictator once I’m in the kitchen (oops…) but my sister helps out and does her own thing. That’s why it’s so special; because my sister did this herself, top to bottom.

IMG_20140206_123420_447

Okay, I’m off to go do some Blogilates! See you soon!

x Audrey

My Sister’s Pasta Salad

(serves 4 generous servings)

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup dry pasta (we used penne)
  • 8 oz mushrooms, chopped
  • 6 oz can of sliced olives
  • 3 green onion stalks, chopped
  • 1/2 cup fresh mozzarella, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 1 tomato, chopped
  • 3/4 cup deli meat (we used black forest ham)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • salt, pepper, onion/garlic powder, italian seasoning

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta in boiling water until al dente; set aside.
  2. Place mushrooms, olives, onion, mozzarella, pepper, tomato, and deli meat into a large bowl with the pasta and toss. Add olive oil, vinegar, and season to your liking
  3. Cover, and refrigerate for 1 hour, or overnight, preferably. Serve cold.
One thought on “My Sister’s Pasta Salad

Tell me what you think:

