Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta

Pasta is amazing. Whenever we cook pasta, my sister and I sneak pasta right after it’s al dente to “test its doneness”. Yum. I think it has to do with the texture.

IMG_20140115_190541_753

My sister and I had a state audition with our school, and we stopped by Chili’s for dinner. My sister got this seafood cajun pasta (which she loved. It had a cream sauce, shrimp, and good ol’ pasta). Funnily enough, my mom went to Granite City (which was my 6th grade teacher’s favorite restaurant) the same night with my aunt and uncle, and she also had a cajun pasta. She brought home leftovers and we devoured it for lunch.

This also would be lovely for all you guys out there to make for your girlfriend on Valentine’s Day (wink wink*). Here’s a no-fail equation:

Chocolate + handwritten letter + nice candlelit dinner = your girlfriend will love you forever.

No honestly, it’s a sound equation; cliche, yeah, but so are roses and people give those all the time. Trust me on this one.

Now, usually I’m not a cream sauce girl. I think it’s too rich and, honestly, not worth it. I mean, a little once in a while is good. But we healthified this pasta a little, so it wouldn’t be so rich.

IMG_20140115_190554_718

Did it taste like those chain restaurants’ pasta? No. Not in the least. But it was pretty good, considering it was our first time cooking a cream sauce. Usually we have spaghetti, or Asian noodle soup. But there’s a first time for everything right?

The spices are warm, and totally remind me of Louisiana. Which in turn reminds me of Princess and the Frog. Now THAT was a good movie. The songs were good; however, I have to say the voodoo magic stuff was more than slightly scary.

Oh! Which also reminds me. Who has seen Frozen? IT. IS. SO. GOOD. Oh my goodness, the characters there are amazing! The art! The lines! The only thing that is slightly lacking is the plot. But they got that under control with Tangled.

Great. Now I have Do You Want to Build a Snowman? stuck in my head. But it’s adorbs. So I don’t mind.

x Audrey

Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta

(serves 6-8)

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb pasta
  • 1 lb chicken thighs, cut into strips
  • 1 red bell pepper, julienned
  • 1 green pepper, julienned
  • 1 onion, julienned
  • 3 tbsp Cajun seasoning (+ salt)
  • 2 cups half-and-half
  • 1/2 tbsp cornstarch

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta in salted water until al dente.
  2. In a large skillet, bring it up to high heat and add oil, then sear chicken on both sides. Sprinkle about 2 tbsp of the Cajun seasoning onto the chicken and toss. Remove chicken.
  3. Add a little more oil, then stir fry the bell pepper and onion with the rest of the seasoning for about 3-5 min. Then add half and half and chicken, and bring to a boil.
  4. Taste-test for salt and spices. If satisfied, mix cornstarch with a bit of water, then pour over the sauce to thicken. Add back pasta, and stir. Serve immediately.

IMG_20140115_190517_129

Tell me what you think:

