Bubur Pulut Hitam (Black Glutinous Rice Sweet Soup)

I feel like I’m on a roll, doing so many Asian recipes. I didn’t even know I knew so many. But this one is new.

I was bored one day and went scouring on the internet for some new tong sui, which is a sweet soup for dessert. My mom bought a giant bag of glutinous black rice for a recipe, and I wanted to use it.

IMG_20140101_164300_427

So I looked and looked on the internet until something caught my eye: Bubur Pulut Hitam. What what? What caught my attention was that it was served in Singapore. Since my dad is from Singapore, I thought I might surprise him and make something he might possibly be familiar with, just like I did with taro sweet soup and momojaja, or bubur chacha (that was a fail… but it was fun saying the name while I was making it.)

So Bubur Pulut Hitam is a sweet soup made of glutinous black rice (that’s actually purple), a syrup, and some coconut milk. It’s really simple. Healthy? Um… maybe not. Depends on if you think rice is healthy. It’s a grain. Yeah. But it’s also whole grain. That’s a good thing, right?

Pandan leaves are also known as screwpine leaves. They’re long and thin; usually you can find them in the frozen isles in Asian markets in the US. It has a distinct aroma that’s quite popular in SE Asia. It’s used with chicken, rice, coconut, taro… just a ton of stuff. And it’s a flavor you can’t really miss.

This can be served hot or cold. Hot for a winter night. Cold for a nice snack in the summer.

It’s really fun to try and make shapes and patterns with the coconut milk. It reminds me of the latte art people do at those fancy cafes. But what I realized was that you need a whole lot of milk to make it look real nice. But if you make the drink dense, then there shouldn’t be a problem. Same goes with the soup.

Enjoy!

x Audrey

Bubur Pulut Hitam

(serves about 8)

Ingredients:

  • 200 g (about 1 cup) black glutinous rice
  • 3 pandan leaves, knotted
  • 8 cups water
  • 110 g palm sugar
  • coconut milk to garnish
  • optional: sweet potato, mini tapioca balls

Directions:

  1. Bring 7 cups of water to a boil and add the rice and pandan leaves, then stir. Lower heat to low/medium, and let simmer for about 1 hour, or until rice is plump and soft. (if adding sweet potato or tapioca, add in the last 10 minutes)
  2. In a separate saucepan, place sugar and remaining 1 cup of water. Bring up to a boil until it forms a thick syrup.
  3. Pour into the rice and stir around. Turn off heat and serve. Garnish with coconut milk.

IMG_20140106_081720_486

Tell me what you think:

