Shrimp Vermicelli

As I’ve mentioned before, seafood is my favorite type of meat. Maybe it’s because seafood is so expensive here is why we love it so much. My cousins who live in California apparently don’t treasure it much, but they love steak. I guess it’s the whole “grass is greener on the other side” thing.

My mom visited my aunt there in California and on the last day they went to a Thai restaurant and ordered seafood vermicelli. She has mentioned more than once what was in that dish: two prawns, a couple of scallops, and some noodles– for a whopping $13. My mom was determined to recreate it, whilst making it cheaper, but with more generous amounts of seafood. Though we don’t have scallops, we chose to use prawns that we bought in bulk.

IMG_20131218_183734_589

My dad also thinks that California is pretty overrated. It’s nice there. However, he says there’s only three things that make it worthwhile: the nice weather, the food, and how easy it was to fly international there. But the traffic, the crowdedness, the over-priced everythings, the pollution overrides it.

Anyway, this dish is delicious. Prawns sitting on a bed of vermicelli bean thread, garnished with spring onions. Simple. Quick. Yummy. It took my mom just one try to make this just right. She’s just cool like that.

To make this authentic, use large prawns with shell AND head on. I know it’s not very American to do either of those, especially the head part, but that’s what gives this dish a giant seafood flavor and nice color. Just try it.

x Audrey

Shrimp Vermicelli

(serves 4)

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp of oil
  • 8 prawns, shell and head on
  • 2 bundles of vermicelli (bean thread)
  • soy sauce
  • 1 spring onion, cut into 2 inch

Directions:

  1. Soak the vermicelli in water for about 5 minutes, about the time it takes to cook the prawns.
  2. In a frying pan, heat oil until wisps of smoke appear. Lay the prawns in one layer and sear on one side then the other. Cover the pan until cooked.
  3. Remove the prawns. Drain the vermicelli, then add to the pan, deglazing the bottom. Once it is deglazed, add back the prawns, then add soy sauce to taste turn off the heat, then add the onion.
  4. Serve and enjoy!

IMG_20131218_183728_845

One thought on “Shrimp Vermicelli

  1. This looks yummy. I have to admit, I hardly ever cook prawns with shell on. Sometimes I cut them in half down the middle to make them easier to eat, but mostly I use peeled prawns.

    When I eat out, I often wonder to myself : “Can I make this better and cheaper at home?”. Sometimes this is a good thing, it makes me more adventurous in the kitchen. Other times, I make the mistake of ordering a dish I know I can make at home, only to be disappointed. So now I try to order only what I cannot make already.

Tell me what you think:

