Oreo Cookies

The title sounds quite redundant, doesn’t it? Did you know oreos are the best-selling cookies year-round, EXCEPT when Girl Scout cookies are on sale? And who can resist oreos? It’s totally American (or is it?)

IMG_20131215_153841_514

I used to love to eat the filling the best when I was a kid. But now that I’m much older and more mature (cough cough) I have to say I prefer the cookies. It’s not too sweet and there’s a lot of that chocolate flavor.

IMG_20131215_153734_560

These cookies are sweet though; I have to say, too sweet for me, even when we cut the sugar down by 1/2 a cup.

When my sister and I made this recipe, we made it double, because I needed some for my classes, and she needed some for hers, and we wanted to make some for orchestra. The bad thing is, we started making these cookies way too small, and they turned out crispy and crunchy, which is something most people don’t prefer. We solved that by giving those to my sister’s class (which she doesn’t like very much, unfortunately). As I’m typing this, they’re (hopefully) enjoying them right now along with their little taco party. The rest of the cookies we made a lot bigger, so they were softer. But still totally flat. Not enough baking soda, perhaps?

IMG_20131215_153841_514

Merry Christmas!

x Audrey

Oreo Cookies (adapted from kirbiecravings.com)

Makes about 4-6 dozen

Ingredients:

  • 4 sticks of butter
  • 2 1/2 cups of sugar (you can probably cut that to 2 1/4 or even 2 cups)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 5 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 15-18 oreos, crushed

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Cream together the butter with the sugar, until evenly incorporated. Blend in eggs one at a time, then the vanilla.
  3. Add flour, baking soda/powder, and salt. Blend until just comes together. Stir in oreos. Roll into 2 inch balls, then place on the baking sheet.
  4. Bake for 8-10 min. Let sit for a couple minuites, then transfer onto a wire rack and cool completely.
One thought on “Oreo Cookies

Tell me what you think:

