Mint Cookies

This is the last post for my trio of Christmas food gifts, and I saved the best for last! Mint cookies, mmmm….

Cookies are delish regardless. However, make them into the Christmas spirit, they’re even more special. They smell like Andes fresh from the oven. I’m crazy about Andes. But my sister is even crazier. My brother likes the York pieces, but to us that’s basically sugar. In a bad way.

IMG_20131214_170647_116

When did mint become a winter thing? I understand pumpkin and apples for fall because they’re in season, but why mint for winter? It makes no sense. After you eat it, you want to take a drink from a water fountain. But it becomes way too cold, so you’re trying to sip water but at the same time getting a brain freeze, so then you want to take a drink of hot chocolate, but then that becomes too hot after drinking freezing water, so you want to drink some water to alleviate that burning feeling and… well, it’s a vicious cycle.

But I love mint. So it’s all good.

IMG_20131214_170532_182

Fun trivia: did you know the Nutcracker Suite was actually meant for New Years Eve?? Instead it’s played at winter. Bet Tchaikovsky didn’t see that one coming…

IMG_20131214_170643_256

Whatever. It’s one of the best suites ever written. And the earlier we get to enjoy them, the better. If I were a typical young adult, I’d go #ClassicalMusic. But I’m not. Why do people hashtag everything? It’s fun the first few times, but after a while… it gets kind of old. Maybe my attitude would change if I had more social-media-esque material.

Nevertheless…

Merry Christmas! Only FOUR days left!!

x Audrey

Mint Cookies (adapted from allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown sugar (never packed!)
  • scant 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 (10 oz) package of chocolate and mint chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, cream the sugars with the butter. Add eggs one at a time, then the vanilla.
  3. Stir in flour, baking soda and salt until just blended. Then stir in the chips.
  4. Bake for 8-10 min, then transfer onto a baking rack. Enjoy!

P.S. My sister and I sent these as gifts to our teachers. This is what they look like after they’ve been packaged all nicely:

IMG_20131214_211837_161

One thought on “Mint Cookies

Tell me what you think:

