Pumpkin Cheesecake

There was a sale in Price Chopper for cream cheese and I knew I had to make cheesecake. But not just any cheesecake– oh no. It’s got to be something special. Something festive. Something Thanksgiving-esque.

IMG_20131124_163603_840

Oh yes. Pumpkin cheesecake. It’s a step above the classic pumpkin pie. It’s something a bit more showy and elegant and amazing. It’s creamy, pumpkin-y, a bit cheesecake-y. My sister, who doesn’t usually like cheesecake, devoured this stuff. I enjoyed it immensely, but my mom didn’t like it so much. So we resorted to making a pumpkin pie and a cheesecake.

IMG_20131124_163703_255

It’s like this:

Pumpkin cheesecake —> pumpkin pie + cheesecake

(Oh my word, I think chemistry is getting to me…) it’d taste better this way, my mom says. Who am I to argue? So my sister and I divided up the rest of the pumpkin cheesecake: a big slice to a friend, two slices for my cello teacher and his family (their daughter apparently  adores cheesecake- who knew?), and the rest to my orchestra.

Which they completely devoured.

And made a mess on the podium.

But they seemed to like it, so it’s all fine (:

This being my first cheesecake, of course there was a crack in the middle.

IMG_20131124_085701_034

Noooooo! But no one’s perfect! (Oh, looky, my sister’s toes) And, we had to use animal crackers instead of graham crackers for the crust.  But regardless, it was divine. Not too sweet, but very pumpkin-y. Want to impress your family during Thanksgiving? Make this cheesecake.

x Audrey

Pumpkin Cheesecake (adapted from foodwishes.com)

(makes about 10-12 servings)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of sweet cracker crumbs (i.e., graham, gingersnap, animal crackers)
  • 3 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 4 (8 oz) packages of cream cheese, softened
  • scant 1 cup brown sugar
  • scant 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • dash of white pepper
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup flour

Directions:

  1. (I adapted this recipe from Chef John from foodwishes.com. He’s seriously the funniest chef alive, and I definitely do not want to steal his thunder. His recipes are amazing, his voice is awesome, and his videos are entertaining. I can tell you to bake the cheesecake at 325° F for 1 1/2 hours, but that’s about it. So instead of writing out the directions here, I suggest you watch his video here. Happy watching!)

IMG_20131124_163649_558

Tell me what you think:

